Rua Avelino Barros, 303

Póvoa de Varzim,

Porto, Portugal

+351 917 777 945

+351 913 586 843

+351 252 683 337

Team Members

Hugo Barros

- Graduated in Architecture at FAUP (Faculdade de Arquitectura da Universidade do Porto).
- Between 2011 and 2012 studied at Accademia de Architectura di Mendrisio in Switzerland.

- Between 2012 and 2013 worked at David Chipperfield Architects in London.
- Founded the architecture platform DOME with Pedro Bragança in 2013
- Founded the practice ATELIERDACOSTA in 2015, sharing the studio with Pedro Matos.

Other activities:
- Editor of Revista Unidade 8, FAUP
- Invited teaching assistant at Porto Academy
- Member of Inner City program, in Porto
- Several collaborations with dance and theater performances

Selected prizes and awards:
- Finalist of SECIL Universidades national award
- Honorable Mention for best national architecture thesis - ARCHIPRIX
- “Best Design” award in the international competition “School for the refugees in Thailand” in colaboration with Marcos Veiga

Pedro Matos

Diogo Silva

- Professional Qualification on Design, Ceramics and Sculpture at Colégio de São Miguel (Fátima)
- Graduated in Architecture at FAUP - Faculdade de Arquitectura da Universidade do Porto. Studied as an exchange student at Udk and TU Berlin between 2011 and 2012.

- '07: ARQUETIS (Fátima) - Design internship
- '16-'17: PRODUCTORA (Ciudad de México) - Architecture Intern + Architect (Project Leader)

Other activities:
- Member of MTA - Architecture Workers Movement.
- Selected Fellow (supported by Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation) on the 2019 edition of DOC'S KINGDOM - Cinema Seminar in Arcos de Valdevez
- Curator of MAObject Art Symposium in 2013 (Maia, Porto)
- FAUP Students' Union Cultural Department Coordinator between 2009 and 2010

Selected prizes and awards:
- Ricardo Spratley Prize + Florêncio Neto de Carvalho Prize: best grade conclusion of course FAUP '13/'14
- Portuguese Government Schoolarship of Merit: best grade of FAUP '09/'10

Marta Nogueira

- Graduated in Architecture at FAUP, Faculdade de Arquitectura da Universidade do Porto (2011-18).
- Studied as an exchange student at FADU-UBA, Facultad de Arquitectura, Diseño y Urbanismo - Universidad de Buenos Aires (2015).
- Specialization in Architectural Acoustics (2020).

- Worked at Ronald Janssen Architecten in Amsterdam (2016).
- Worked as an architecture intern at Martins Architecture Office in Guimarães (2018-19).

Other activities:
- Co-editor of Revista Unidade 8, FAUP (2014).
- FAUP Students' Union vice-president (2013-14).
- Co-coordinator of QUINZENA'15, a debate platform on architecture education (2015).

Emanuel Neves

- Graduated in Architecture at FAUP (Faculdade de Arquitectura da Universidade do Porto).

- Since  2018 works at atelierdacosta in Póvoa de Varzim.

Selected prizes and awards:
- Won "concurso anual de Soluções Construtivas Pladur 2017 - Porto" in colaboration with Guilherme Soares, Hélder Oliveira and Rui Fernandes

Ricardo Fernandes

- Graduated in Architecture at FAUP (Faculdade de Arquitectura da Universidade do Porto).
- Between 2012 and 2013 studied at The Glasgow School of Art in Scotland.

- In 2017 worked at PARADOXO and Habitar Porto
- Between 2018 and 2019 worked at Castanheira & Bastai Arquitectos
- Working at ATELIERDACOSTA since 2019

Other activities:
- Study of the relation between sound and space
- Electronic music production, sound design collaborations in installation art and dance performances
- Drawing coverage of concerts
- Member of Inner City program, in Porto
- Founder of Artes à Quinta with Pedro Bragança


João Morais

- Graduated in Studies in Architecture at FAUP (Faculdade de Arquitectura da Universidade do Porto)

- Collaboration with Telmo Castro Arq. in 2016
- Between 2018 and 2019 worked at Boffi Studio Porto
- Between 2019 and 2020 worked at AE-EA architecture-entertainment
- Working at ATELIERDACOSTA since 2021

Other activities:
- Between 2013 and 2015 volunteered as a graphic designer at AEFAUP (FAUP Students' Union)
- Co-coordination of QUINZENA’15 (debate platform focused on architecture education)
- Founder of oficina fumo - office for multi-disciplinar experimentation
- Editor of FENOMENOLOGIA DEL ALMA - short movie by Maria Novo
- Composer and producer w/ José Carvalho of the soundtrack for  the short movie A Bobinadeira by Nicole Noia
- Electronic music producer


Catarina Salgado

    - Master's degree in Architecture at EAAD - Escola de Arquitectura, Arte e Design da Universidade do Minho - Guimarães, Portugal (2011-2016).
    - Erasmus+ exchange program at Università IUAV di Venezia - Venice, Italy (2015-2016).

    - Worked at Art'cittá - Guimarães, Portugal (2016-2019).
    - Colaborated with Hugo Gomes Arq. - Fafe, Portugal (2017-2021).
    - Worked at Moove Arquitectos - Guimarães, Portugal (2020-2021).

    Other activities:
    - Graphic Design and Edition of the publication "História e Ucronia - Mosteiro de Sanfins de Friestas" - Valença, Portugal (2015).
    - Graphic Design of the panels presented by Hous3.Arquitectura, in the public competition "Center for Education and Culture of Quarteira" (2019).
    - House Manager Assistant at A Oficina Centro de Artes e Mesteres Tradicionais de Guimarães - Guimarães, Portugal (2020-).
    - Illustrator at @cat.a.tua (2018-).


Carolina See

    - Master's degree in Architecture at ISCTE-IUL (2015-2020).

    - Internship at GMARC, Grupo de missão para o alargamento e requalificação do campus do ISCTE-IUL - Lisboa, Portugal (2019).
    - Worked at Barbas Lopes Arquitectos - Lisboa, Portugal (2020-2022).

    Other activities:
    - Success evaluator and Participative Design at BIP-ZIP Project promoted by Lisbon Municipality between 2017 and 2018.
    - Participation and collaboration at Saber de Fazer exhibition, Fista18 and Fista19, at ISCTE-IUL.
    - Mentoring of 2nd grade students at Project Design III and IV with the professor Patrícia Barbas, at ISCTE-IUL.
    - Founder of @atlasofcuriosity.


External Members
and other Collaborations

Pedro Bragança

Marcos Veiga

Cristina Pinho

Tiago Casanova



Former team members

Arthur Gouvêa

Margarida Martins

Marta Miranda

Ricardo Nunes

Catarina Dias

Rui Quintas

Maria Concepcion Rodriguez

Raquel Bessa Serra

Ricardo Coutinho

Sara Marques

Pedro Xavier Oliveira

Marcos Veiga

João Borges